Secret Pal Ideas from Author Chelly Wood

Need an idea for your secret pal's next gift? Here you go!

Holiday Pencils in a Festive Box for my Secret Santa Teacher Pal

on December 2, 2011
perfect gift box for office party gift white elephant

Image: iClipart

Today’s post is a variation on yesterday’s theme. I bought my Secret Santa Teacher Pal a bunch of holiday pencils. You know the kind: they have little santa erasers on top and snowman designs along the shaft of the pencil, for example. I kept thinking, “How the heck am I going to package these pencils?” They were too long for my Christmas card boxes but too skinny to go in a gift bag.

So I came up with a variation on yesterday’s post. (Click here if you want to see that post.) As you’ll recall, yesterday I made gift boxes out of old Christmas cards. Well today I did something similar. I took a 12×12 piece of scrapbooking cardstock paper with holiday designs and sliced it right down the middle (so it became 12 inches by 6 inches long). Then I made a similar box, like yesterday’s, only long and slender. I had to make my cuts deeper too–about one and a half inches deep on each side. This created a long slender box in which I put my holiday pencils for my Secret Santa Teacher Pal.

As before, I lined the box with crepe paper and filled the bottom with red and green M&M’s. Then I put the pencils overtop. Everything fit nicely together, just like yesterday’s box.

Instead of inserting a holiday poem, this time I’ve included famous quotations from Mother Teresa. (It just so happens that my Secret Santa Teacher Pal is Catholic, so that’s perfect!) Here are the quotes I’ll be using:

Words of Wisdom from Mother Teresa

“We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop.”

“The miracle is not that we do this work, but that we are happy to do it.”

“Do not wait for leaders, do it alone, person to person.”

I’m going to cut out these quotes on a long, thin strip of paper and frame it with the same scrapbook cardstock paper that I used for the box. that should make it very special!

One more thing, if you’re an English or reading teacher, you should visit my sister site, English Emporium, where I offer journal writing prompts.

Leave a Reply

