Secret Pal Ideas from Author Chelly Wood

Need an idea for your secret pal's next gift? Here you go!

A Super-Inexpensive and Creative Gift for Secret Santa

on December 5, 2011

I’ve decided to go with a theme this week for my Secret Santa/Silly Santa. Have you seen these adorable chocolates from Lindt? (Click on the link to see what I’m talking about.) They come with four foil-wrapped chocolate reindeer and one Santa. I bought mine at the local grocery store, but I bet they’re available at Target, WalMart, and some of those stores that go whole-hog for the holidays. Call around and see if you can find them.

For this week’s creative and super-inexpensive Secret Santa gift, I bought two of these chocolate sleigh sets from Lindt. I’m going to pack two reindeer in a gift bag at a time along with a clever poem I’ve written.

The gift bags were absolutely free, because I made them, and I’m going to offer a pattern right here:

gift bag for Silly Santa presents that are inexpensive

Image: iClipart

Yep, that’s one of my Christmas cards from last year. You just trace the pattern onto the back of the picture-part of your old Christmas card, cut, fold, and tape the tiny little bag together. Here are all the things you’ll need:

  • Scotch tape
  • Scissors
  • The pattern (above)
  • Marker or pencil for tracing
  • Old Christmas cards
  • An exacto knife or craft knife (for cutting out the center of the handles)
  • Lindt Chocolate Santa Sleigh x 2
  • Cutting board

Instructions:

  1. Print the pattern from above and cut it out, using the scissors. The craft knife is helpful for cutting out the center of each handle, but you can get by with really sharp scissors.
  2. Lay the pattern on the inside of an old Christmas card and trace. Make sure you’re tracing over the inside of the front of the card, so the picture on the front of the card will appear on the outside of your gift bag when you’re all done. If you have a light box, that might help you position the pattern so your card’s picture is strategically placed right on the front of the bag when it’s all done.
  3. Cut wherever there’s a straight line on the pattern. Where you see a dotted line, use your scissors to score (just barely indent the paper) and fold. See my photo at the bottom of this post for a reference.
  4. Use tape to hold the little bag together. When you’re all done making your miniature bag, you can line it with small pieces of crepe paper to look festive. Two reindeer will fit snugly in this bag. I’m going to be placing two reindeer in each bag along with a very short poem about those reindeer.

Today’s poem will be:

Here you have

Reindeers one and two

Dasher and Dancer

Made of chocolate for you

Check back with me on Tuesday through Friday this week to see the other poems. I’ve written a brief snippet for each reindeer plus Santa. So on Monday my Secret Santa will be given a chocolate Dasher and Dancer; on Tuesday, she’ll get a chocolate Prancer and Vixen, etc… On Friday I’ll be putting one of the Santas in my miniature gift box with a much longer, conclusive poem.

I couldn’t get the photo of my work table (displaying a finished gift bag) to load. So here’s a link to the picture. And here’s a link to my scanned pattern. If it’s too small, try enlarging it on a photocopy machine, but don’t go too big; otherwise, it won’t fit on the inside of the Christmas cards.

One more thing, if you’re an English or reading teacher, you should visit my sister site, English Emporium, where I offer journal writing prompts.

5 responses to “A Super-Inexpensive and Creative Gift for Secret Santa

  1. Hi there, i read your blog occasionally and
    i own a similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam comments?
    If so how do you prevent it, any plugin or anything you can suggest?
    I get so much lately it’s driving me insane so any help is very much appreciated.

    • Chelly Wood says:

      My blog is through WordPress, and it offers Akismet, which is a spam-blocker. I just have to go into my spam box now and then and dump all the spammy comments. Here on WordPress, we get lots of spam too, but it’s all housed in our spam boxes.

      Thanks for following me. What’s your secret pal website, so I can follow it? Your link, there, is to a Medicare website, not your secret pal website.

  2. I think this link should get you to all of the poems. Let me know if it doesn’t work: https://secretpalteachers.wordpress.com/tag/christmas-poem/

  3. dr says:

    Could I get the other poems?

Leave a Reply

