Secret Pal Ideas from Author Chelly Wood

Need an idea for your secret pal's next gift? Here you go!

A Fun Theme for Secret Santa Gifts

on December 8, 2011

Have you seen these adorable chocolates from Lindt? For this week’s creative and super-inexpensive Secret Santa gift, I bought two of these chocolate sleigh sets from Lindt. I’m going to pack two reindeer in a gift bag at a time along with a clever poem I’ve written.

The gift bags were absolutely free, because I made them. Click here for the pattern. To make one, you just trace the pattern onto the back of the picture-part of your old Christmas card, cut, fold, and tape the tiny little bag together. Here are all the things you’ll need:

  • Scotch tape
  • Scissors
  • The pattern
  • Marker or pencil for tracing
  • Old Christmas cards
  • An exacto knife or craft knife (for cutting out the center of the handles)
  • Lindt Chocolate Santa Sleigh x 2
  • Cutting boardinstructions for making your own gift bags

If you need detailed instructions, please look back at Monday’s post. I wrote out the instructions there in detail.

Once I’ve stuffed my little gift bag with foil-wrapped reindeer, I’m going to insert a poem. (I did this yesterday too, so you’ll want to look back at previous posts to access the poems that came before this one.) Today’s poem will be:

Donder and Blitzen

Are tasty you’ll see

But who will drive

The sleigh for me?

Since tomorrow is Friday (and the last day of this theme), I’ll be putting one of the Santas in my miniature gift bag with a much longer, conclusive poem. Check back for that one!

One more thing, if you’re an English or reading teacher, you should visit my sister site, English Emporium, where I offer journal writing prompts.

Leave a Reply

