Secret Pal Ideas from Author Chelly Wood

Need an idea for your secret pal's next gift? Here you go!

A quick emergency gift for your Secret Pal–I forgot!

on January 23, 2012
Mother's Day Gift

Image: iClipart

Don’t you hate that? It’s time to give that once-a-week gift to your Secret Pal, and–oh crapperoonie! I totally forgot! Now what?

I just experienced that feeling myself. I wracked my brain. Let’s see… I’ve got that brand new box of crayons I was going to give the kids–no, that’s too cheesy. I could burn a CD of a bunch of music I own–nah, that’s just plain illegal.

I’ve got it! Grandma’s canned applesauce! My Secret Pal will never know that Grandma canned it instead of me! YAY!

And voila! I have an instant gift.

You know that can of home-made sweet peaches /jam /salsa /applesauce that Grandma gave you for Christmas? I know, I know, you were actually looking forward to eating that, right? It’s gotta be good.

Which is why it’s the perfect re-gift. Because it’s so yummy.

Wrap a ribbon around it, top it off with one of those rainbow curling ribbon bows, and you have an instant gift for your Secret Pal. And you don’t even have to feel guilty about it, because it was something you really treasured anyway.

But if Grandma asked you how you liked her canned whatsit, be sure and sing its praises. Don’t tell Grandma what you did!

If you’re an English teacher, like me, and you’d like to see all my cool assignments and stuff online, here’s the link to my academic blog. I hope you get something good there.

Leave a Reply

