Secret Pal Ideas from Author Chelly Wood

Need an idea for your secret pal's next gift? Here you go!

Gardening Accessories for Your Secret Pal (Also Great for Mother’s Day)

on April 23, 2012
Mother's Day gift

Image: iClipart

So this month I’ve been suggesting springtime ideas for the secret pal who loves to garden. In addition to the goodies I’ve already suggested (birdfeeder + birdseed, gardening tools, etc.), here are a few things that I plan to give my secret pal teacher friend this month:

Audubon Society stickers–Teachers can always use stickers as prizes, if not for other things.

A Bird-Shaped Moisture Meter–These devices help you test the moisture of the soil before watering. They’re best for indoor plants, but I suppose they can be used outside as well.

Bird Wind Chimes — It’s possible to find theses at the dollar store, if you’re lucky.

Outdoor Thermometer–I think I mentioned this a couple of posts back, but you can find them very reasonably priced. You can get an ordinary one for your secret pal’s garden, or a decorative one like the bird-shaped one in the link I’ve provided.

As I typed this blog post, I’ve been looking through the bag of goodies I’ve bought. There’s only one thing left to mention: a rain poncho. Those little packaged yellow rain ponchos that people can pack around in their purse–that’s what I’m talking about. It comes in handy in the spring, when a rainstorm can hit unexpectedly. I’m going to include this with my other gardening goodies, in a gift package.

And that’s really all I have for the gardening gifts. I might skip next week’s posting, because honestly, I’ve got enough here to last me into May without any problem.

I hope my ideas are helpful!

 

If you’re an English teacher, like me, and you’d like to see all my cool assignments and stuff online, here’s the link to my academic blog. I hope you get something good there too.

Leave a Reply

