Secret Pal Ideas from Author Chelly Wood

Need an idea for your secret pal's next gift? Here you go!

The Very Best Gift You Can Give Your Mom on Mother’s Day

on April 30, 2012
what do i give mom for mother's day ?

Image: iClipart

As I said last week, I”m taking a break from Secret Pal gift-giving in this week’s post.

Mother’s Day is approaching fast, and you might be wondering what to give your mom. Sadly, my mom passed away in 2008, but I can tell you about the most special gift I gave her before she died.

My mother was battling with a cancerous brain tumor. But no matter how much that tumor ate away at her gray matter, her bond with her daughters never disappeared.

She came to stay with me for her birthday in 2007. By that time, the doctors had already determined that her days were numbered. What kind of birthday gift do you give a mother who is definitely going to die? I thought about this for a long, long time. It kept me awake at night. I could only think of one thing that would be of value to my mom…

TIME.

She needed time with me. So I set an appointment to spend the day with my mom, at the spa. We had our nails done. We were given facials. A professional masseuse rubbed sore muscles until they were like mush.

But best of all, we spent time together. Just talking. Just sharing. Just being a mom and her girl.

With mother’s day coming soon, be sure to give your mom a little of your time. You don’t realize how valuable it is, until time runs out…

 

If you’re an English teacher, like me, and you’d like to see all my cool assignments and stuff online, here’s the link to my academic blog.

One response to “The Very Best Gift You Can Give Your Mom on Mother’s Day

  1. Hello there, you visited my blog therefore I came to pay you the
    same service. I’m terribly in need of things that will improve my own website. Should you not mind, I would like to use a few of your great tips. I really believe that your achievement inspires individuals to turn out to be like you.

Leave a Reply

